GABRIOLA ISLAND POWER AND SAIL SQUADRON

Minutes of the 25th AGM

Held on April 18th, 2021

Via Go-To-Meeting

Commander Jean van Praet called the meeting to order at 1402.

Members present: Jean van Praet, Agathe Gaulin, Don Butt, Mike Hoeinghaus, Elaine Pearce, Nigel Wells, Bob Wood, Ivan Bulic, Andy Hunter, Jude Briscoe, Carole Lemieux, John Bullas, Sarah Bullas, Richard Strachan, Georgette Duhaime, Bob Derksen, Sean Lewis, Gary Small, Li Decosas. Special guests: Ion Barnes, Astrid Frieda Colton, the daughter of the late Rudy and Frieda Bohm, D/C Wayne Smiley, C/C Peter Bolton, Barry and Judy Smith, and Alexa Stochmal.

Jean announced the awards: Arthur Nielsen trophy for Debbie Erdos; Windchime Award to Agathe Gaulin and Nigel Wells; Rudy and Frieda Bohm Memorial Award to Bert ter Hart and his shore team comprising Nani ter Hart, John Bullas, Don Butt and Leah ter Hart. He also gave a Commander's citation to Barry Smith to thank him for his assistance with the blended courses.

Jean thanked everyone who assisted during the year. He then invited D/C Wayne Smiley to address the meeting followed by C/C Peter Bolton who gave a summary of what is happening at National.

The actual meeting then proceeded. It was established by the secretary, **Carole**, that a quorum was present and that notification of the meeting had been sent out.

Minutes of the previous AGM held on November 1st, **2020**: moved by **Don**, seconded by **Andy**, that the Minutes of the 24th AGM be accepted. **Approved.**

There was no correspondence.

Officers' Reports: MOTION: moved by Don, seconded by Ivan, that the reports on the website be accepted. Approved.

MOTION: moved by **Agathe**, seconded by **John**, that the Financial Report be accepted. **Approved. Jude** proposed Sandi Winter as Financial Reviewer for the coming year. Moved by **Andy**, seconded by **Don**, that Sandi Winter be the Financial Reviewer for the coming year. **Approved**.

Jean called on Mike as Chair of the Nominating Committee. Also on the committee were Jean and Elaine. Mike stated that, although we have a full slate, we still need a PRO. As there were no new nominations from the floor, Carole cast the single vote in favour of the new Bridge. Jean gave a special welcome to Gary Small, Li Decosas and Sean Lewis as new Bridge members. D/C Smiley pledged in the new Bridge.

Jean stated that 'the watch has changed'. He thanked everyone present.

The next Bridge meeting is scheduled for Monday, April 26th @ 1400.

There being no further business the meeting adjourned at 1500.